Weathering the Storm

Hello again, my friends!

Have you ever weathered a storm?  For some, a storm could be described as a powerful thunderstorm that contains strong winds, lightning, and a heavy downpour of rain.  For others, a storm could be a time in their life where they may be experiencing a crisis.  And for others, it may be just a period of time where there is so much activity requiring his time and energy such as projects, meetings, presentations, etc…  I’d like to share a ‘storm’ that I experienced over the last week or so.

If you remember from my last post, I had a number of things for which I asked you to pray.  And, yes, last week was my storm.  I had a number of meetings, email responses, and phone calls that required a good portion of my time at work.  There were a number of correspondences that I engaged in that left me emotionally drained.  Because the training that I was preparing for falls on a Saturday (three consecutive Saturdays to be exact), I’ve had to reschedule long runs to Sunday, which has its own challenges for the weeks following.  The weather forecast for this past weekend was predicted to have thunderstorms with high winds.  And to top it all off, I still had not begun to prepare my taxes!

How was I going to make it?  On the date of my last post, I wasn’t sure how I was going to get to the other side of this storm that I was looking at.  It was my life verse that God kept bringing to the forefront of my mind and to the depths of my heart.

I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.
~ Philippians 4:13 (NASB)

And strengthen me He did!  The training for work that I had been preparing for took place on Saturday better than expected.  The ten mile run that I had to reschedule for Sunday went better than when I did it last summer AND the weather was great with no thunderstorms!  And finally, I completed my taxes!  God was there all the time waiting for me to acknowledge His presence.

"Wow, am I really getting run 10 miles?"

Setting out on an 10-mile long run @ Rollins Savanna

When am I ever going to learn?

Prayer Requests

1) Some good friends of mine are visiting Kenya right now ministering to pastors and youth leaders.  Would you pray that God would protect them in addition to giving them His wisdom?  Pray for John T., Dave G., Conce G., and Trent M.

2) April is half over and I’m still praying for 5 more financial supporters for Team Oasis.  Share the following website to all those who might be interested in supporting as you have: http://run.tonyjao.com

Thanks again for joining me on this journey!

Tony

Leave a Reply

