Storm…Shorm!

Hello My Friends,

Couch plus Tony plus Dog plus 8 mile run equals discipline!

Here I am after working while standing on my feet for 5 hours knowing that I have an 8 mile long run to complete before the sun goes down! The couch and dog aren't helping either!

If you remember my last post, I talked a little bit about the storm I weathered.  Well, it looks like the skies have cleared up!  This last week was VERY exciting for me to say the least.  I’d love to share with you some of the things that I’m celebrating.

  1. Team Oasis Launch Event
    On Thursday Evening, we had our launch event at The Runner’s Edge in Libertyville.  It was so exciting to meet so many runners in one place for the same cause!  It was neat to hear the different stories as to how people started running and why they chose to run for Team Oasis.  We heard from different representatives of the Oasis Team: Kim Huffman, our Team Captain; Jen Neumann, our Team Coach; Chris Herden, Oasis for Orphans Co-Founder.  Additionally, we heard from Frank Honold, founder of The Power of ONE Bars; Chris, The Runner’s Edge Store Manager; Ryan Hall from ASICS shoes; and Tony Smith from Moji.  I was so excited to have been recognized as Team Oasis’ top fundraiser to date…all thanks to YOU!
  2. Four New Partners for Team Oasis
    I have a monthly goal of asking at least 5 new people/families to financially partner with Team Oasis with a gift of at least $20.  I’m a firm believer that God worked mightily and laid it upon the hearts of four people/families last week.  Together their gifts totalled $220 over a 2 day period!   Again, thank you all SO much!  Please keep praying for this ministry and share this website with your friends and family: http://run.tonyjao.com
  3. Eight Mile Run
    Every weekend for the past 12 weeks I’ve run what’s called, “a long run”.  In my training program, I have 2 runs typically scheduled on Mondays and Thursdays that are time based and a long run that is distance based on Saturdays.  (I’m supposed to cross train on Tuesdays and Fridays; but let’s not get into that right now.)  So for example, on Monday and Thursday I may have a 50 minute run scheduled and on Saturday I would have a 6 mile run scheduled.  Well this week, because I knew I couldn’t run on Saturday, I shifted everything one day; 50 min on Tuesday, 40 min on Friday and 8 mile on Sunday.  The challenge was Sunday’s run because I had to work Sunday morning while standing on a hard concrete floor at a local Target for 5 hours!  Well, I got home from work and honestly didn’t want to go because my legs and feet were just plain tired.  I laid on the couch for a while with my dog and almost didn’t get up (see picture).  I knew I had to go, so I suited up and went outside.  After miles 1 and 2, I was tempted to turn around and just head home but I kept saying to myself, “Just one more mile, then you can turn around”.  Well, eight miles later, I realized that God helped me through each step!

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. (James 1:17)

I am humbled by seeing not only how God reveals Himself through me during my running but also through YOU all!  I believe that together we can come together to see God take all of our contributions and build a 2nd orphanage for Oasis!

Thanks again for joining me on this journey!

Tony

Leave a Reply

